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18 VAC 140-20-100.  Biennial renewal of licensure . Licensure Renewal 

 

A. All licensees shall renew their licenses on or before June 30 of each odd-numbered year and 

pay the renewal fee prescribed by the board.    

 

B. Beginning with the 2003 renewal, licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay 

the appropriate fee and document on the renewal form compliance with the continued 

competency requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-105.  Newly licensed individuals are 

not required to document continuing education on the first renewal date following initial 

licensure. 

 

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment of a 

fee equal to one half of the biennial license renewal fee as indicated on the renewal form.  No 

person shall practice social work or clinical social work in Virginia unless he holds a current 

active license.  A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by 

fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 140-20-110.  

 

B. D. Failure to receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the licensee from the 

renewal requirement. 

 

18 VAC 140-20-105.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active 

license. 
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A. After April 25, 2003, licensed social workers and licensed clinical social workers shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education for each 

biennial licensure renewal. A minimum of two of those hours must pertain to the standards 

of practice and laws governing the profession of social work in Virginia, or the Code of 

Ethics of one of the social work professional associations listed under subdivision 18 VAC 

140-20-105 B 1 d.   

 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 

of continuing education requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the 

renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education 

requirement.   

 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

 

B.  Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-approved activities in the following 

three categories: 

 

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities.  A minimum of 20 hours shall be 

documented in this category which shall include one or more of the following: 
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a. Regionally accredited university or college academic courses in a behavioral health 

discipline. [One semester credit hour is equivalent to 15 contact hours. A maximum of 

15 hours will be accepted for each academic course]. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges accredited by the 

Council on Social Work Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered 

by federal, state or local social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 

health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by 

an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: 

(1)  The Child Welfare League of America and its state and local affiliates. 

(1)  The National Association of Social Workers and its state and local affiliates. 

(3)  The Association of Black Social Workers and its state and local affiliates. 

(4)  The Family Service Association of America and its state and local affiliates. 

(5)  The National Federation of Societies for Clinical Social Work, Inc. and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(6)  Individuals or organizations who have been approved as continuing education 

sponsors by the Association of Social Work Boards or any state social work board. 

 

2.  Category II.  Individual Professional Activities.  A maximum of 10 of the required 30 

hours may be earned in this category, which shall include one or more of the following: 
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a.  Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards item writing workshop. 

(Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.) 

 

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book or initial 

preparation/presentation of a social work-related course. (Activity will count for a 

maximum of 10 hours.) 

 

c.  Publication of a professional social work-related article or chapter of a book, or 

initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related in-service training, seminar or 

workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five hours.) 

 

d. Provision of a continuing education program sponsored or approved by an 

organization listed under Category I.  (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours 

and will only be accepted one time for any specific program.) 

 

e.  Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on Social Work Education-

accredited school.  (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.) 

 

f.  Serving as an officer or committee member of one of the national professional social 

work associations listed under subdivision B 1 d of this section. (Activity will count for a 

maximum of two hours.) 
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g.  Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state or local social service agencies, public 

school systems or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.  (Activity will count for 

a maximum of five hours.) 

 

h.  Independent or group study including listening to audio tapes, viewing video tapes, 

reading, professional books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

 

18 VAC 140-20-106. Documenting compliance with continuing education requirements. 

 

A. All licensees in active status are required to maintain original documentation for a period of 

five years following renewal.   

 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board shall conduct a random audit of licensees to 

verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 

 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 

 

1. To document completion of  Category I activities licensee shall provide:  

 

a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 
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b.  Certificates of participation. 

 

2.  Documentation of Category II activities shall be by: 

 

a.  Certificates of participation;  

 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  

 

c.  Reprints of publications;  

 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing education 

program;   

 

e.  Letter of confirmation from the school of social work; 

 

f.  Official notification from the association which sponsored the item writing workshop 

or continuing education program; 

 

g.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffings shall be by signed affidavit on a form 

provided by the board; or 
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h.  Identification of the source of material studied, summary of content, and a signed 

affidavit attesting to completion of the independent study. 

  

D.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order shall not be used to satisfy 

renewal requirements. 

 

18 VAC 140-20-110.  Late renewal of expired license; reinstatement; reactivation. 

 

A.  A social worker or clinical social worker whose license has expired may renew that license 

within four years after its expiration date by: 

 

1.  Providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing education 

requirements. 

 

2.  Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial license fee for each 

biennium as prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-30. 

 

B.  A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to renew the license for four years or 

more and who wishes to resume practice shall reapply according to the requirements of 18 

VAC 140-20-40 or 18 VAC 140-20-45 apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee and 

provide documentation of having completed all applicable continued competency hours equal to 

the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years.  
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C.  A social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 

active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and document 

completion of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been 

inactive, not to exceed four years.  

 

18 VAC 140-20-160.  Grounds for denial, revocation, suspension, disciplinary action or 

denial of renewal issuance of a license. 

 

Action by the board to deny, revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license shall be in 

accordance with the following: 

 

1.  Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 

 

2.  Procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation; 

 

3.  Conducting one’s practice in such a manner so as to make the practice a 

danger to the health and welfare of one’s clients or to the public.  In the event a 

question arises concerning the continued competence of a licensee, the board 

will consider evidence of continuing education.  in one or more of the following 

categories as a demonstration of effort to maintain minimum competence to 

engage in practice: 
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a.  Academic social work courses taken for credit or audited. 

 

b.  Continuing education offered by accredited social work education 

programs, other accredited educational programs, and other providers, 

including professional associations, agencies and private entrepreneurs: 

 

(1)  Seminars, institutes, workshops, or mini-courses oriented to the 

enhancement of social work practice, values, skills and knowledge; and 

 

(2)  Cross-disciplinary offering from medicine, law, and the behavioral 

sciences if they are clearly related to the enhancement of social work 

practice, values, skills and knowledge. 

 

c.  Planned self-directed study in collaboration with other professionals; 

 

(1)  Independent study in a social work curriculum area or a closely 

related field.  Examples include a planned reading program, individual 

supervision or consultation; and 

 

(2)  The content and plan of instruction developed by the licensee. 

 

d.  Publication of books, papers, or presentations given for the first time at a 
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professional meeting; 

 

e.  Other professional activities, including: 

 

 (1)  Preparation for the first time of an academic social work course, 

in-service training workshop or seminar, or other professional seminar; 

and 

 

(2)  Research not resulting in publication. 

 

f.  Social work-related academic courses such as mental health, health and 

social work research, psychology, human growth and development, and child 

and family development. 

 

4.  Being unable to practice social work with reasonable skill and safety to 

clients by reason of illness, excessive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals 

or any other type of material or as a result of any mental or physical condition; 

 

5.  Conducting one’s practice in a manner contrary to the standards of ethics of 

social work or in violation of 18 VAC 140-20-150, standards of practice; 

 

6.  Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of competency; and 
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7.  Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in 

18 VAC 140-20-105; and 

 

7. 8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any statute applicable to the practice 

of social work or any provision of this chapter. 

 
 
I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated. 
 
 
      
      
     Evelyn B. Brown 
     Executive Director 

Virginia Board of Social Work 
 
     Date: 
 

 
 
 


